The 69th Edition of Locarno Film Festival by Nick Zonna

The 69th Edition of Locarno Film Festival 

presented From 3 to 13 August 2016

Locarno Film Festival is a unique Film Festival located in Locarno and is the most important event in the Swiss Cinematography.

During its 68 years of history, the Locarno Film Festival achieved a unique role among the  major Film Festivals. Every August, the Swiss-Italian town of Locarno becomes the world capital of Auteur Cinema.


Thousands of film lovers and cinema experts meet in Locarno to share the cinema passion in all its forms. Locarno Film Festival is recognized as a competitive Festival, by the International Federation of Associations of Film Producers (FIAPF), along with Cannes, Berlin and Venice.

Locarno Film Festival assigns every year the “Pardo d’oro” award.  Like every year the jury (composed this year by Kate Moran, Rafi Pitts, Rodrigo Teixeira, Bing Wang and by the President Arturo Ripstein) has determined the award winner of Pardo d’Oro, the most important Festival award.

The winner was the incredible debut of the Bulgarian director Ralitza Petrova, “Godless”.

To confirm its success, “Godless” took home another important award , to his leading actress Irena Ivanova : thanks to her intense performance in the role of the nurse Gana, she won the Pardo award for the best actress , while the winner as male actor was Andrzej Seweryn for his role in “The Last Family” .

The Polish film , considered a possible winner for the press , tells about the family life of the surrealist painter Zdzisław Beksinski , between the care of his sick mother , the attempt to save the young son DJ from committing suicide and his apocalyptic visionary art .

Locarno, during this 69 years, has presented several numerous films and short films by international directors like Claude Chabrol, Stanley Kubrick, Paul Verhoeven, Milos Forman, Marco Bellocchio, Glauber Rocha, Raul Ruiz, Alain Tanner, Mike Leigh, Béla Tarr, Chen Kaige, Edward Yang, Alexandr Sokurov, Atom Egoyan, Jim Jarmusch, Spike Lee, Gregg Araki, Catherine Breillat, Abbas Kiarostami, Gus Van Sant, Pedro Costa, Fatih Akin, Claire Denis and Kim Ki-Duk.

Ph. © Nick Zonna 

Nick Zonna


Photographer Press Editor-Media Relation
Phone: +39 3478253843 
Mail: [email protected] 
Twitter: @nickzonnaphoto

The 69th Edition of Locarno Film Festival by Nick Zonna


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>